Columns Indies NJPW ROH WWE

2017 In Review: The PWH Staff Makes Their Year-End Picks


2017 was an exceptionally crazy year in the world of Wrestling, with unexpected Champions, shocking debuts and returns in a number of companies, and many companies jockeying to improve their position worldwide. We here at PWH know everyone loves a good list to debate, so some of the staff here put together their picks for the best of 2017 in an array of categories. Check out our picks below, and keep an eye out on PWH, as some of the staff members will be explaining/defending their choices in the days to come!

Tim Bell: Owner and Contributor
Casey Brothers: Contributor
Erich Pilcher: Columnist and Social Media Contributor
Hamish Munro: Columnist
Ayman Farid: Columnist
Matt McConnell: Columnist

Match Of The Year:

Tim: Kazuchika Okada vs. Kenny Omega – Dominion 2017 
Casey: Kenny Omega vs. Tomohiro Ishii – G1 Special In USA
Erich: Kazuchika Okada vs. Kenny Omega – Dominion 2017
Pete Dunne vs. Tyler Bate – NXT Takeover: Chicago
Pete Dunne vs. Tyler Bate – NXT Takeover: Chicago
Pete Dunne vs. Tyler Bate – NXT Takeover: Chicago
Male Wrestler Of The Year:

Tim: Kenny Omega
Casey: Kenny Omega
Erich: Cody
Hamish: AJ Styles
Ayman: AJ Styles
Matt: : Kenny Omega

Female Wrestler Of The Year:

Tim: Alexa Bliss
Casey: Asuka
Erich: Alexa Bliss
Hamish: Nikki Cross
Ayman: Asuka
Matt: Asuka

Tag Team Of The Year:

Tim: The Usos
Casey: The Young Bucks
Erich: The Young Bucks (Close Second – The Addiction)
Hamish: The Usos
Ayman: The Usos
Matt: The Usos

Show/Event Of The Year:

Tim: Wrestle Kingdom 11
Casey: Wrestle Kingdom 11
Erich: ROH Global Wars
Hamish: WrestleMania 33
Ayman: NXT Takeover: War Games
Matt: NXT Takeover: Chicago

Company Of The Year:

Casey: NJPW
Erich: NJPW
Hamish: NXT
Ayman: NJPW
Matt: NJPW

Breakout Star Of The Year:

Tim: Keith Lee
Casey: Marty Scurll
Erich: (Tie) Flip Gordon, Adam Page
Hamish: Velveteen Dream
Ayman: Braun Strowman
Matt: Pete Dunne

Worst Event Of The Year:

Casey: WWE FastLane
Erich: WWE Battleground
Hamish: WWE Battleground
Ayman: Bayley’s “This Is Your Life” Segment
Matt: WWE FastLane

Feud Of The Year:

Tim: Hiroshi Tanahashi vs. Tetsuya Naito
Casey: Kevin Owens vs. Chris Jericho
Erich: The Bullet Club vs. WWE
Hamish: The Usos Vs. The New Day
Ayman: Braun Strowman vs. Roman Reigns (New Day vs. Usos a close second)
Matt: Braun Strowman vs. Roman Reigns

Commentator Of The Year:

Tim: Kevin Kelly
Casey: Corey Graves
Erich: Ian Riccaboni
Hamish: Corey Graves
Ayman: Corey Graves
Matt: Nigel McGuinness

Authority Figure Of The Year:

Tim: Daniel Bryan
Casey: Daniel Bryan
Erich: William Regal
Hamish: Stu Bennett
Ayman: Dario Cueto
Matt: Dario Cueto


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s